Federated Farmers elects first woman national president after 118 years

West Coast dairy farmer Katie Milne is the new Federated Farmers’ national president- becoming the first woman in the federation’s 118-year history to hold the presidency.

 Milne succeeds Dr William Rolleston who steps aside after his three-year tenure.

A previous federation board member and West Coast provincial president, she was Dairy Woman of the Year and a Rural Woman of Influence in 2015.

A statement from Federated Farmers says that Manawatu dairy farmer Andrew Hoggard was elected national vice president while South Canterbury farmer Miles Anderson takes over as national meat and fibre chair with Rick Powdrell stepping aside.

Waikato farmer Chris Lewis takes over as national dairy industry chair succeeding Andrew Hoggard.

North Canterbury farmer Lynda Murchison has been elected as one of two board members at large alongside Chris Allen who was reappointed.

Arable chair Guy Wigley remains on the board pending next week’s arable sector AGM.

Federated Farmers thanked former national president Rolleston for his service over the past three years, and wished him all the best in the future.

Visited 17 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window