NZ Tourism Awards return for 2021

Entries have opened for the New Zealand Tourism Awards, returning for 2021 to showcase and celebrate the tourism industry’s individual and business successes.   

After a 2020 hiatus due to the pandemic, a revised awards programme will see three individual high performers and up to eight businesses crowned as the best in the industry.  

Winners will be announced at an awards dinner on 1 September in Hamilton following Tourism Summit Aotearoa, keeping attendees’ costs down by combining the two events. Both events are organised by Tourism Industry Aotearoa.   

TIA chief executive Chris Roberts says, in a statement, that the decision to hold the awards in 2021 came from the tourism operators themselves.   

“While a full awards ceremony didn’t feel appropriate this time last year, our members have told us a return to the annual celebration in some form would be welcome. We’ve combined some of the previous categories, further simplified the entry process and won’t be selecting a Supreme Award winner this year. 

Roberts says TIA is excited to bring Tourism Summit Aotearoa and the New Zealand Tourism Awards to Hamilton. “It’s a fantastic opportunity to experience the Mighty Waikato as we unpack the strategic direction of the industry during the day and celebrate tourism’s champions in the evening.”    

The three awards for individuals are open to outstanding performers in the industry, and eight awards will recognise business excellence, industry alignment and organisations that are living the values of the Tourism Sustainability Commitment.  

Hamilton & Waikato Chief Executive Jason Dawson says he is “thrilled and excited” to be hosting these key tourism events in the Waikato. 

“Given the significant challenges our industry and businesses have tackled over the past 12 months, the New Zealand Tourism Awards are a fantastic opportunity to acknowledge, learn, reflect and celebrate our achievements together,” he said. 

“This year has shown New Zealand and our communities the innovation and adaptability of our industry. We look forward to rolling out the welcome mat and putting on a great event.”  

The New Zealand Tourism Awards are open to both members and non-members of TIA.

Entries close at 5pm on 1 July. 

Visited 6 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window