Awards reflect future direction for NZ enterprise

Ryman Healthcare Group was named Company of the Year; Port of Tauranga CEO Mark Cairns took the Executive of the Year title; Sir Henry van der Heyden – Fonterra’s chairman since 2002 – was named Chairperson of the Year; and kaiwhakahaere (chairman) Mark Solomon of the iwi authority Ngai Tahu was awarded the Visionary Leader title.

The announcements were made at gala dinner at the SkyCity Convention Centre in Auckland – the 23rd annual event for New Zealand’s most prestigious business awards.

Deloitte chief executive Thomas Pippos says the winners and finalists are some of New Zealand’s best home-grown businesses and individuals. “They’re the who’s who of the business community. 

“Together, the winners and finalists make vital contribution to New Zealand’s economy and hold the keys to our future prosperity,” says Pippos. 

NZ Management magazine publisher Toni Myers says the awards fairly reflect where New Zealand business has been and, more importantly, where it’s going. “The primary sector is most strongly represented by our largest organisation, Fonterra, but it is undergoing significant change to ensure its continued growth and strength. 

“Likewise the export sector will always be critically important to us as small trade-dependent nation so strong performance from our transport and logistics sector will underpin our future fortunes. And with demographic shifts the demand and requirement for well-managed aged-care provision signals an upward trajectory for that sector.”

Myers adds that whilst the majority of Top 200 businesses are still based on traditional corporate listed structures she sees the growing significance of alternatives. “Fonterra of course is co-operative structure; and we will witness huge growth in influence of Maori economic enterprises, many of which are under the umbrella of an iwi-based governance model. Just watch the Maori economic powerhouse grow,” she says.

Guests at the awards evening, comprising CEOs, executives and directors of New Zealand’s largest enterprises heard from Fonterra CEO Theo Spierings, in one of the few addresses he’s made to large corporate audience since taking over the reins at Fonterra 12 months ago. 

Also speaking, in pre-recorded video, was Rob Fyfe, departing Air New Zealand CEO and past Top 200 Executive of the Year winner. Fyfe was chairing his final Star Alliance meeting in China.

2012 Top 200 award winners

Deloitte/Management magazine Company of the Year 
Ryman Healthcare Group 

Deloitte/Management magazine Executive of the Year 
Mark Cairns, chief executive, Port of Tauranga 

NZIM/Eagle Technology Young Executive of the Year 
Glenys Powell, GM sales & marketing, Medical Assurance Society (MAS) 

QBE Chairperson of the Year
Sir Henry van der Heyden, chair, Fonterra 

ilume Best Growth Strategy Award

Marsh Most Improved Performance Award
Port of Tauranga 

Institute of Directors Responsible Governance Award
ASB Bank

Designworks Visionary Leader Award 
Mark Solomon, kaiwhakahaere (chairman), Ngai Tahu 

Visited 5 times, 1 visit(s) today

Business benefits of privacy

Privacy Week (13-17 May) is a great time to consider the importance of privacy and to help ensure you and your company have good privacy practices in place, writes Privacy

Read More »
Close Search Window