On Board

Lion’s outgoing CEO Rob Murray will join the Lion board from April 2013 as non-executive director. Murray originally joined the former Lion Nathan board in 2002 as non-executive director, before being appointed Lion Nathan CEO in October 2004 and Lion CEO upon the company’s formation in October 2009. Stuart Irvine succeeds Murray as CEO from 3 January 2013.

Gavin Walker, who currently chairs ASB Bank, has been appointed chairman of the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation, the crown entity which manages the New Zealand Superannuation Fund. He succeeds David May, who has chaired the Guardians since inception in 2002. Walker also chairs Sovereign Insurance, CommSec, the Kirin International Advisory Board and the Ultra-Fast Broadband Steering Committee. Former AMP Capital managing director, and current Guardians board member Catherine Savage has been appointed deputy chairman.

Fonterra’s chairman elect John Wilson has announced that Sir Henry van der Heyden (pictured) will stay on the board as farmer-elected director for the first part of next year after he stands down as chairman in December. Ralph Waters will also extend his tenure, as appointed director, for up to six months beyond the 2012 annual meeting in December. Together they will provide valuable guidance as the cooperative moves ahead on the implementation of its Trading Among Farmers (TAF) share trading scheme, Wilson is reported as saying.

Fonterra has also appointed three independent directors to its Shareholders’ Fund Board which will direct the TAF programme. The chair is John Shewan (pictured), former PriceWaterhouseCoopers chair and currently adjunct Professor of Accounting at Victoria University in Wellington. The other two are Pip Dunphy, an experienced financial markets specialist, and Kim Ellis, the former CEO of Waste Management. They will be joined on the fund management board by Fonterra directors Sir Ralph Norris and Jim van der Poel.

Keith Goodall and Grant Stapleton have been appointed to the board of Mexicali Fresh, family owned New Zealand restaurant group. Ihug co-founder Tim Wood has recently invested in the business.

Mighty River Power has announced the resignation of independent director Parekawhia McLean from its board. Chief executive of Waikato-Tainui Te Kauhanganui Incorporated, McLean said she believes her resignation is in the best interests of both Mighty River Power and Waikato-Tainui.

Visited 7 times, 1 visit(s) today
Close Search Window